Team dashboards enable you to save and track against key metrics that are important to you. There are no limits on the number of dashboards you can create. You can also organize dashboards such as by project, department, or other.
Dashboards are organized in a tree structure which you can view on the left side. Each dashboard is like a file directory in that it contains an arbitrary number of workspaces (i.e. chart), and can also contain other dashboards.
So you can get started faster, your Moesif account will have prebuilt dashboards, one for each department:
- Customer Success
Each of these pre-built dashboards contain metrics based on what we’ve seen work best. These can provide a good starting point for you to customize and build off. You can start with a blank slate and create a new dashboard which perfectly suites your needs.
Moving dashboards and workspaces
Each dashboard consists of workspace tiles. Workspace tiles can be moved within a dashboard via drag-n-drop. Simply click-and-hold on the Workspace tile you’d like to move and place it as desired within the grid.
You can move workspace tiles into other dashboards by clicking and holding a tile, dragging them into the desired dashboard hierarchy in the left nav and releasing the item. This will then result in the moved dashboard appearing in the destination dashboard.
Dashboards can be nested under other dashboards by also dragging them under the desired dashboard within the left nav.
Edit workspace filter or metrics
In order to change an actual metric, click on the chart name in the tile to bring up the full view of the chart, log, or analysis.
From here, the filter criteria can be changed.
Once you made your changes, click Save in the top right.
In each dashboard, you will see some dashboard actions which allow you to edit, copy, and edit some of the settings for the dashboard you are on. These settings are visible at the top of the bashboard screen.
Deleting a dashboard can be done by clicking the trash icon in the Dashboard Actions.
Before a dashboard can be deleted, you must first delete any charts and other dashboards that a particular dashboard holds for safety.
You can duplicate any dashboard by clicking the copy button in the Dashboard Actions.
This will perform a deep copy which means all the charts within the dashboard are also copied. If you edit a copied dashboard, it will not impact the original dashboard.
Duplicating dashboards can be useful when you want a template dashboard that already contains all the metrics you want for all new projects or apps.
By default, dashboards do not reload or refresh. However, you can select a time interval for when you would like the dashboard to refresh. This can be useful if the dashboard is shown on a TV in the office and want it to be always up to date.
Override date Range
You can quickly override the date range used by all workspaces within the dashboard. By default, each chart will use the date range stored with the chart.
The date range provided to the Override Date Range dropdown will be applied to all workspaces in the dashboard. This is regardless of whether they currently have a date range in their filter.
This makes it easy to toggle the same dashboard between different ranges. Date ranges available include:
- Default Date Ranges
- These are default ranges specified for the metrics in each individual workspace in the dashboard
- Last hour
- Last 24 hours
- Last 7 days
- Last week
- Last 28 days
- Last month
- Last 4 weeks
- Last 12 weeks
- Last year
- allows users to specify a particular date range not supplied in the default options
- Absolute Date Range
Last Month refers to the first day of the previous month and ends at the current date. To achieve the previous calendar month, specify either a custom date range with the previous x amount of days and now selected or absolute date range with with two dates selected.
If your workspaces have a filter, you can override it easily with the override filter button.
Before using this feature, ensure the filter you want to override is present in the workspace already. If not, the filter override will have no effect.
A common use case for the filter override is to easily switch between different customer or partners while having a common dashboard containing all KPIs.
With the override filters feature, you don’t have to manually create a dashboard for each customer.
When you override a dashboard, a blue filter funnel icon will be present in the workspace tiles when applied.